Randy Willis | Quarter Horse Dollar

I’m in the mood for a fast horse or a slow train and they’re no trains in sight! ~ Randy Willis

Randy Willis

Randy Willis

John Wayne, Jake Willis, my Quarter Horse Dollar—and yes, me. This scene, more than any other in the movies, reminds me of my Dad, Jake Willis…!

After watching my favorite John Wayne movie, Big Jake, for the umpteenth time, I’ve decided it’s time for a ride. Dollar and my destination is the Guadalupe River near Sisterdale. There, hopefully, I will write a chapter or two on a novel that I’m working on.

Big Jake has always reminded me of my Dad, Jake Willis. Dollar was named after two different horses, Dollor and Dollar, that John Wayne rode in his final westerns. The horses are often confused. It is Dollor that carries Wayne when he makes his famous charge, reins in his teeth, in his Oscar-winning portrayal of Rooster Cogburn in True Grit. And it’s Dollar that Wayne rides in the sequel, Rooster Cogburn, as well as in his final film, The Shootist.

✯ ✯ ✯

Beckoning Candle is my new book that will be released in 2017. It is based upon my father Julian “Jake” Willis’s life and my namesake, my grandfather, Randall “Ran” Willis’s life. It is a nonfiction novel (i.e.: the story of actual people and actual events told with the dramatic techniques of a novel). Truman Capote claimed to have invented this genre with his book “In Cold Blood” (which I read many years ago). I will keep you updated with the release date.

Website: http://threewindsblowing.com

Amazon author’s page:
http://amazon.com/author/randywillis

Vaya con Dios ~ Randy Willis

Leave a Reply

